Sustainability Advisory Panel

Chaired by Sir Jonathon Porritt, our Sustainability Advisory Panel has six external members who were selected based on the range of skills and expertise we considered necessary to shape and inform a pioneering sustainability agenda.
Sustainability Advisory Panel Sir Jonathan Porritt.

Sir Jonathon Porritt (United Kingdom), Founder Director of Forum for the Future, UK, Advisory Panel Chair and sustainability thought leader

Sir Jonathon Porritt, co-founder of Forum for the Future, is an eminent writer, broadcaster and commentator on sustainable development. Established in 1996, Forum for the Future is now the UK’s leading sustainable development charity, with a growing presence in the United States, India, Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia. He was formerly Director of Friends of the Earth, co-chair of the UK Green Party, and as Chairman of the UK Sustainable Development Commission until 2009, he spent nine years providing high-level advice to Government Ministers. Sir Jonathan was installed as the Chancellor of Keele University in February 2002. He is also Visiting Professor at Loughborough University and UCL. Recent books are 'Capitalism as if the World Matters' (2007) and 'the World We Made' (2013) - which seeks to inspire people about the prospects of a sustainable world in 2050. Sir Jonathon received a CBE in January 2000 for services to environmental protection.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Dame Anne Salmond.

Dame Anne Salmond (New Zealand), New Zealand anthropologist and writer

Dame Anne Salmond is a New Zealand anthropologist and historian best known for her writings on New Zealand history, her study of Māori culture, and her efforts to improve intercultural understanding. In 2013, Dame Anne was named the Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year and also won the Royal Society of New Zealand Rutherford Medal. Dame Anne has served as Chairwoman of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust Board. She is the only New Zealander to have been elected to both the British Academy and the National Academy of Sciences in the US.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Sir Rob Fenwick.

Sir Rob Fenwick KNZM KStJ (New Zealand), New Zealand entrepreneur, director, conservationist

Sir Rob Fenwick is the first New Zealander knighted for services to both business and conservation. He co-founded the New Zealand Business Council for Sustainable Development and New Zealand's first commercial composting business, Living Earth. He established and chairs Predator Free New Zealand, The Kiwi Trust. He also chair New Zealand Antarctic Research Institute and Sustainable Seas – a National Science Challenge. He is a founding member of the Air New Zealand Environment Trust and a director of Ngāti Whātua o Ōrākei's commercial holdings. Sir Rob has an honorary doctorate in Natural Resources from Lincoln University, and the Fenwick Ice Piemont in Antarctica is named for him. He was the 2015 Sir Peter Blake Medallist and was inducted to the NZ Business Hall of Fame in 2016.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Dr Susanne Becken.

Dr Susanne Becken (Australia), Director of Griffith Institute for Tourism and Professor of Sustainable Tourism, Griffith University, Australia

Prof. Susanne Becken is a Professor of Sustainable Tourism at Griffith University in Australia, a Vice Chancellor Research Fellow at the University of Surrey in the United Kingdom, and the Principal Science Investment Advisor for tourism in the Department of Conservation, New Zealand. In her role as founding Director of the Griffith Institute for Tourism she led the Institute to be recognised as No 2 in the world and No 1 in Australia. She has published over 100 articles on sustainable tourism, climate change and tourism resource use. Susanne is a member of the NOW Transforming Travel Advisory Board and an invited expert on the Whitsunday Climate Change Innovation Hub. Susanne is an elected Fellow of the International Academy of the Study of Tourism.

Suzi Kerr, Sustainability Advisory Panel

Dr Suzi Kerr (New Zealand), Economist and senior fellow at Motu, adjunct professor Victoria University

Suzi Kerr is the Chief Economist at Environmental Defense Fund. Most recently, she served as a Senior Fellow at Motu, Principal Investigator in Te Punaha Matatini, a centre of research excellence focused on networks and complex systems, and as an Adjunct Professor at Victoria University. She graduated from Harvard University in 1995 with a PhD in Economics. From 1998 to 2009 she was the founding Director of Motu. In 2010 she won the NZIER Economics Award. She has also worked at the University of Maryland at College Park, Resources for the Future (USA), the Joint Center for the Science and Policy of Global Change at MIT, and more recently was a Visiting Professor at Stanford University for the 2009/10 year and at the University of the Andes in Bogotá, Colombia in the first half of 2014. In 2018 she was President of the Australasian Agricultural and Resource Economics Society, and a member of the Interim Climate Change Committee.

Her current research work focuses on climate change. She empirically and theoretically investigates domestic and international climate change policy with special emphasis on emissions pricing and land use in both the tropics and New Zealand. She has led and co-led several large international projects including the writing of the World Bank and ICAP handbook on emissions trading 'Emissions Trading in Practice'.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Tim Jackson.

Professor Tim Jackson (United Kingdom), Professor of Sustainable Development, University of Surrey, Director of the Centre for the Understanding of Sustainable Prosperity

Tim Jackson is Director of the Centre for the Understanding of Sustainable Prosperity (CUSP), and Professor of Sustainable Development at the University of Surrey in the UK. CUSP builds on Tim's vision over three decades to explore the moral, economic and social dimensions of prosperity on a finite planet. He's advised numerous governments and UN agencies on sustainability. Between 2004 and 2011, Tim was Economics Commissioner on the UK Sustainable Development Commission, where his work culminated in the publication of his controversial book Prosperity without Growth (Routledge 2009/2017). In 2016, he was awarded the Hillary Laureate for exceptional international leadership. In addition to his academic work, Tim is an award-winning dramatist with numerous radio-writing credits for the BBC.