Mr Palmer and Chief Executive Ralph Norris will comment further on the decision at a media and analyst briefing at 4pm today.

Those unable to attend the briefing will have the option of dialling in.

The dial in numbers are as follows:

NZ Toll Free: 0800 450 133
Australian Toll Free: 1800 730 020
Hong Kong Toll Free: 800 964 459
Singapore Toll Free: 800 616 3053
UK Toll Free: 0800 917 6701
US Toll Free: 1800 248 8032
Japan Toll Free: 0053 125 0040
Metered: + 61 2 9696 0777

If you are unable to dial in at 4pm, a replay facility is available. To access the replay facility dial +61 2 8524 1009 or 1800 735 513 and enter the following pass code 125008#.

Those attending the briefing are asked to be at level 19 of Quay Tower no later than 3.45pm.

NOTE: The content of all Air New Zealand media releases are accurate at the time of issue, as stated at the top of each release. For updates on any changes, please contact Air New Zealand.

Air New Zealand is proud to be a member of Star Alliance. The Star Alliance network was established in 1997 as the first truly global airline alliance to offer worldwide reach, recognition and seamless service to the international traveller. Its acceptance by the market has been recognised by numerous awards, including the Air Transport World Market Leadership Award, Best Airline Alliance by both Business Traveller Magazine and Skytrax. The member airlines are: Adria Airways, Air Canada, Air China, Air New Zealand, ANA, Asiana Airlines, Austrian, Blue1, bmi, Continental Airlines, Croatia Airlines, EGYPTAIR, LOT Polish Airlines, Lufthansa, Scandinavian Airlines, Shanghai Airlines, Singapore Airlines, South African Airways, Spanair, SWISS, TAP Portugal, Turkish Airlines, THAI, United and US Airways. Aegean Airlines, Air India, Brussels Airlines and TAM have been announced as future members. Overall, the Star Alliance network offers 19,500 daily flights to 1,071 airports in 171 countries.

For more information about Air New Zealand visit and for more information about Star Alliance visit