The precautionary measures taken by Air New Zealand have included:

  • alerting the airline's airport managers and check -in staff so that passengers with flu-like symptoms are not checked through
  • heightening the awareness of cabin crew so that the recommendations for the management of passengers who become ill in-flight with flu like symptoms are followed
  • alerting pilots to the need to contact the appropriate authorities at the destination airport so that the appropriate medical follow up is instigated.

Air New Zealand's chief medical officer, Dr David Powell said that it is company policy not to carry any passenger with a known infectious disease. Currently, crew are able to exercise discretion and refuse boarding to anyone they believe may be a danger to themselves or others.

Dr Powell said the airline will also be closely monitoring staff who travel into the regions where the illness has been reported.

Air New Zealand will continue to monitor the situation and seek the advice of the Ministry of Health over the matter.

NOTE: The content of all Air New Zealand media releases are accurate at the time of issue, as stated at the top of each release. For updates on any changes, please contact Air New Zealand.

Air New Zealand is proud to be a member of Star Alliance. The Star Alliance network was established in 1997 as the first truly global airline alliance to offer worldwide reach, recognition and seamless service to the international traveller. Its acceptance by the market has been recognised by numerous awards, including the Air Transport World Market Leadership Award, Best Airline Alliance by both Business Traveller Magazine and Skytrax. The member airlines are: Adria Airways, Air Canada, Air China, Air New Zealand, ANA, Asiana Airlines, Austrian, Blue1, bmi, Continental Airlines, Croatia Airlines, EGYPTAIR, LOT Polish Airlines, Lufthansa, Scandinavian Airlines, Shanghai Airlines, Singapore Airlines, South African Airways, Spanair, SWISS, TAP Portugal, Turkish Airlines, THAI, United and US Airways. Aegean Airlines, Air India, Brussels Airlines and TAM have been announced as future members. Overall, the Star Alliance network offers 19,500 daily flights to 1,071 airports in 171 countries.

For more information about Air New Zealand visit and for more information about Star Alliance visit